Landscape image of the Reiland Angus property

Micquella shines as Norman Lethbridge Award winner

Mark Lucas, Norman Lethbridge Award Committee chairman and Reiland Angus Stud, Tumut and Gundagi; Yvonne Gregory representing Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara; Hannah Wetzel, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary School; Sara Pace, Chevalier College; Micquella Grima, Caroline Chisholm College (winner); Lani Fuller, Marian College; Thomas McGregor, Elders Goulburn; Ciaran Dyson, Northholm Grammar; and NSW Minister for Agriculture Adam Marshall. Photo by Showcase by Branded Ag.

Micquella Grima has been announced as the winner of the prestigious 2020 Norman Lethbridge Award presented by the NSW Committee of Angus Australia.

The Norman Lethbridge Award was presented during the Angus judging at the 2021 Sydney Royal Easter Show by NSW Minister for Agriculture Adam Marshall.

The winner Micquella Grima was nominated by Caroline Chisolm College, Sydney, while the equal runners-up were Thomas McGregor, Elders Goulburn, and Sara Pace, Chevalier College, Burradoo. Lani Fuller, Marian College, Kenthurst, received the Wendy and Des Stubbs Encouragement Award and took fourth place.

Ciaran Dyson, Northholm Grammar, Sydney, received the Gary Roberts Encouragement Award while Hannah Wetzel, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary School, was in fifth place.

The Norman Lethbridge Award is sponsored by the Munro family, Booroomooka Angus Stud, Bingara; Christine and Jon Erby, Forres Angus Stud, Dungog; the family of the late Norman Lethbridge; Wendy and Des Stubbs, Albion Park and Gary Roberts, Potts Point.

The award began in 2002 and was named in honour of the New South Wales State Committee’s past secretary Norman Lethbridge.

He was a stock and station agent for most of his working life, with the majority of his clients in the County of Cumberland in Sydney.

A large number of his clients were located in the County of Cumberland and within 200 kilometres of Sydney.

The award is open to students and cadets over 16 years and under 25 years of age, studying agriculture, livestock auctioneering or stock and station work. The applicant must reside within 200km of Sydney.

Past winners of the award are succeeding in the agriculture industry and include 2002 winner Rachael Parkes, who along with her husband Ged Mullins, runs the largest dairy farm in Queensland.

The 2003 winner Stuart Moeck, runs Valley Creek Simmentals at Bowral. Throughout the award’s eighteen years, schools and businesses who have nominated winning applicants include: Bede Polding College, Caroline Chisholm College, Chevalier College, Colo High School, Elders, Goulburn, Elders, Bathurst, Gosford High School, Knox Grammar, Lisarow High School, Marian College, Northholm Grammar, Picton High School, Richmond High School, Richmond Tafe, The Scots School, St Catherines Catholic College, Tocal Agriculture College, Tuggerah Lakes Secondary High School.

Nominations for the 2021 Norman Lethbridge Award will close on November 19. For more information contact Richard Buck on or mobile 0417 077 387